Attorney Specialization

Nevada attorneys may communicate up to three specialty areas of practice, provided the certifying organization is approved and certain conditions precedent are met. For more information, see Specialization FAQ. Attorney specialization is determined by the Rules of Professional Conduct: 7.2, 7.4, and 7.4A (formerly SCRS 196, 198, and 198.5).

Lawyers with questions regarding interpreting and applying the rules may call the State Bar Ethics Hotline and ask to speak to a Bar Counsel: 800-254-2797.

Members of the public with questions about specialization may call the state bar’s Las Vegas offices at (702) 382-2200.

See also Board of Governors Governing Rules.

Additional information:

Please note that certifying organizations which are not ABA approved may petition the State Bar Board of Governors for approval. See RPC 7.4A and  the Board of Governors Governing Rules.

List of Approved Specializations:

  • Business Bankruptcy
  • Child Welfare
  • Civil Trial Advocacy
  • Criminal Trial Advocacy
  • Elder Law
  • Estate Planning Law
  • Family Law
  • Family Law Trial Advocacy*
  • Family Trial Law*
  • Personal Injury
  • Workers’ Compensation

*Family Law Trial Advocacy & Family Trial Law are the same.  In 2018 The National Board of Trial Advocacy (NBTA) changed the wording from FLTA to Family Trial Law.