Each year, the State Bar of Nevada recognizes individuals for their service to the bar and to the profession.

  • The Presidential Award is presented to a State Bar of Nevada member who has practiced law for 20 years or more, and whose conduct, honesty, and integrity represents the highest standards of the legal profession. Award recipients are those who inspire by example, advance the administration of justice, and bring honor and integrity to the profession of law.
  • The Bryan K. Scott Trailblazer Award is presented to a member of the state bar who exemplifies the importance of diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) in Nevada’s legal community. Recipients are those who actively work to dismantle institutional bias and who create a welcoming and inclusive professional community by promoting awareness of diverse values, creating or supporting DEI programs, or leading by example.
  • The Volunteer of the Year Award will be presented to a member for outstanding volunteer service to the State Bar of Nevada. The selection committee will give primary consideration to nominees who have served or continue to serve on state bar committees or sections and have demonstrated a commitment to the advancement of the profession and to the protection of the public.
  • The Young Lawyer of the Year Award will be presented to a young lawyer or lawyers whose professional and public service achievements merit special recognition. Although all commitments to civic participation and community service achievements that advance the state of the profession are considered, special consideration is given to contributions to the State Bar of Nevada and its Young Lawyers Section. Recipients will ordinarily be Nevada lawyers who are either under the age of 36 or who have been engaged in the practice of law from less than five years.