Alimony is financial support from one spouse to the other after the dissolution of a marriage, so that both spouses may maintain a certain standard of living.

Nevada law recognizes several types of alimony, including:

  1. Temporary maintenance (aka spousal support),
  2. Rehabilitative alimony
  3. Periodic or permanent alimony

Temporary maintenance, or spousal support, is financial support that has been awarded and paid to a spouse during divorce proceedings. Temporary maintenance is paid prior to a Judgment of Divorce being entered.

Rehabilitative alimony requires a spouse to pay toward the training or education of the other spouse. This type of payment is intended for spouses who have been home-makers and require further education or training to re-enter the workforce.

Periodic alimony is awarded once a divorce is final, and is often awarded in the form of monthly payments.

Permanent alimony is a form of alimony requiring the paying spouse to make payments to the other spouse for an indefinite period of time. In determining alimony, a court will consider many factors, including:

  1. The financial condition of each spouse
  2. The length of the marriage
  3. The couple’s standard of living during the marriage
  4. Each spouse’s pre-marriage career